Truck Laws in New Mexico and Texas

Truck drivers are required to know the trucking laws of each state they plan to drive through. While they may very well know the laws of the state in which their trip originated, those laws may differ from their surrounding state’s laws. This is equally important for drivers and truck companies to know. For example, if a truck is carrying an 84,000 pound truck and it plans to drive through Texas, they need to know that 4,000 pounds of their cargo must be distributed prior to driving through Texas because Texas only allows trucks to carry up to 80,000 pounds of cargo. There are many more regulations for truck drivers than for everyday motor vehicles. Below we will cover the varying truck laws in the state of Texas and the state of New Mexico.

New Mexico

State Ports of Entry

At the state’s port of entry in New Mexico, there are various fees and/or taxes that may be required. By knowing the state’s regulations, drivers are able to understand the details of what is to be assessed at the time of their entry.

Document Requirements

At the time of entry, New Mexico trucking regulations require drivers to present their commercial driver’s license (known as a CDL), their driving log book, along with any shipping papers and other necessary documents. Fees and taxes may include, but are not limited to, special fuel permit fees, trip taxes, caravan fees and oversize permit fees.

Size Limits

For commercial trucks, state regulations limit the length of single-unit commercial trucks to 40 feet and, for combination units, to 65 feet. Semi-trailers are limited to being 28 feet and 6 inches per trailer.

Weight Limits

Commercial trucks in New Mexico are allowed to weigh between 33,600 pounds and 88,400 pounds depending on the type of truck being driven.

Equipment and Materials

All trucks are required to carry truck safety equipment, previous driver inspections, and the rules for transporting hazardous materials.

Texas

State Ports of Entry

Just as with New Mexico, at Texas’ state port of entry there are various fees and/or taxes that may be required.

Document Requirements

At the time and point of entry, Texas trucking regulations require drivers to present their vehicle registration papers, their commercial driver’s license (known as a CDL), their driving log book, along with shipping papers that explain the cargo being transported and any additional necessary documents. Fees and taxes may include, but are not limited to, special fuel permit fees, trip taxes, caravan fees and oversize permit fees.

Size Limits

Texas trucking laws limit the size of commercial trucks to 59 feet for single-unit semis, 28.5 feet for double trailers, and 65 feet for truck and trailer combinations. Regardless of the type of truck, Texas regulations limit a trucks’ height to 14 feet and their width to 8 feet, 6 inches.

Weight Limits

Texas trucking regulations set the maximum weight for commercial trucks to 80,000 pounds, which is the same as federal law. These state laws also specify weight limits based on the number of axles a truck has.

Equipment and Materials

All trucks are required to carry truck safety equipment, previous driver inspections, and the rules for transporting hazardous materials.

Truck regulations are in place to prevent crashes and vehicle malfunctions. Truck weight and cargo is regulated in order to ensure that no hazardous materials or waste is being transported in a way that would endanger fellow drivers and citizens. If you have been involved in a truck accident with a driver that you believe was not following state regulations, contact us today to review your case. The attorneys of Buckingham Barrera are here to help protect you and your family. 

By |2018-10-04T20:25:34+00:00October 4th, 2018|Blog|0 Comments

About the Author:

Leave A Comment